Reminder: third working holiday visa available (from 1 July)


Changes announced to the Working Holiday Maker (WHM) visa program to support regional and rural communities by the Australian Government apply from 1 July 2019.

Second holiday year visa holders (417 and 462) may be eligible for a third year working holiday visa, allowing visa holders to stay in Australia and work for an additional 12 months if they have worked for 6 months in a specified field or industry in a designated area of regional Australia.

We have updated our Working holiday visa (subclass 417) and Temporary work and holiday visa (subclass 462) fact sheets and information about hiring people from overseas.

Further information including how to apply and costs are available on the Department of the Home Affairs website